‘You’re already syncing this account’ when syncing SharePoint libraries

We noticed this message when trying to sync a SharePoint library using the new OneDrive sync tool. It states ‘You’re already syncing this account’. Open your OneDrive – Your Organisation Name folder or sign in with a different account.

This message seems to appear when you’re trying to sync a SharePoint document library via Edge or Internet Explorer, and you’re already syncing a OneDrive for Business library.You're Already Syncing This Account

How to fix it

  1. Strangely enough, the solution is open the site in Google Chrome, and attempt to sync it that way. I’m not sure why Microsoft’s own browser doesn’t seem to send the correct command to OneDrive, though switching to Chrome has worked for us so far.Open SharePoint Site In Google Chrome
  2. When prompted in Chrome, choose Open URL: OneDrive Client Protocol.Click Sync In Google Chrome
  3. When Sync your OneDrive files to this PC appears, click Start Sync.Sync Files Via OneDrive

 

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles